Catholic Culture????

Friends! Family!

What is a catholic culture? Have you ever thought about being catholic as a part of your culture? Have you experienced any discrimination because of it?  In about 50-100 words explain how Catholicism is a part of your culture?  You can be creative!  Write it in a poem, short story, if you are tech savvy record yourself through video and post the link as your comment.  Again, I am looking for ways to incorporate this into my cultural portfolio.

I was doing some research to help viewers understand catholic culture and I found this website. The website has everything about finding information about Catholicism. Obviously, you need to look through everything critically.  Some may agree with points made and others will disagree.  Either way, I posted the link to spark some interest in your thinking and how you define this part of your culture.  Take a few minutes to think and then please share!  I really appreciate the comments made and I am genuinely interested in reading them.  With your permission, I will use it as part of the cultural portfolio I am creating.  Help me be more creative!!!!!!

My small Testimonial:

Being catholic is difficult to define. I love God. I pray. I go to church. I share my faith with others. I identify myself as a Catholic Christian.  I was baptized as a child and because of this I was born into the faith and exposed to life through this lens.  It may or may not have been my parents intentions but it certainly has become a way that people identify me as well.  It is a lifestyle for me and that is certainly how I would see culture and thus why I believe I have a catholic culture.

8 thoughts on “Catholic Culture????

  1. I agree being Catholic is definitely hard to define but I do believe that it is part of my culture. Having been raised Catholic, I have believed from infancy in God. As for how my catholicity is part of my culture I believe that I would attempt to describe it as follows: I believe in Jesus Christ and therefore attemp to model my life after his example. I attend Church regularly and try to instill the faith in my children also. I have learned some of the Church’s teaching as a child and others as an adult, but I try to incorporate what I have learned my life into my daily life.

  2. indeed, i do believe,
    that being catholic is a culture
    although one might deny this,
    and rip you apart, like a vulture.

    the reason i believe this,
    that culture involves (and is centered on) religion,
    is that it is not publically known or supported–
    you definitely wouldn’t find it in the carillon.

    being catholic,
    or any other religion for that matter
    is the defining element of culture,
    the future and the latter.

    the purpose we do things,
    the way of being,
    is shaped by our religion,
    as part of our culture–aren’t you seeing?

    so being canadian,
    and not really having a “culture” to define,
    i agree that yes, catholicism is (a big part of) my culture,
    with which traditions, actions, and my personality are carefully alligned.

  3. A culture is a system of shared beliefs, values, customs, behaviours and artifacts that members of society collectively use to interact with each other. Catholicism is a “form” of culture, for lack of better words. On the other hand, I am an Acadian by blood (obviously not by location). The Acadians were known as being catholic, and for the most part, still are. In short, catholicism, by being a part of my “cultural background” is a manifestation of my culture in itself. 🙂

  4. I think that by being Catholic I am partaking in a Catholic culture (in a human sense). To me, being part of a culture of any sort means to adopt a certain personal belief system as part of collective established system. In another sense, myself, as a person who is part of diverse cultures (ethnic, religious, recreational…), these intersecting cultures create a sort of “umbrella culture” that defines me. Catholicism is definitely part of this. I have definitely experienced judgment due to my Catholic culture; but I must also remind myself to be mindful of those cultures of which I myself may be unknowingly blind. In the end, the Catholic “culture” of which I partake, has a higher purpose, transcendent of any human notion of “culture”, but holds within it a spirit beyond earthly recognition.

  5. Hey Kenna,
    Definitely an interesting topic! I’ve often thought about this idea of “Catholic culture”…SO many things I could talk about but I think I’ll just narrow it down to one.

    The Eucharist is one of the most beautiful and defining parts of our faith…we believe that it is truly the flesh and blood of Christ. This foundational belief in our faith really does provide a sense of unity that moves beyond traditional cultural divides. For example, I remember being at WYD in Cologne Germany and spending some time in the Eucharistic adoration chapel. I was there with many other people, most of whom were probably from other countries and spoke other languages. Despite our differences we were able to come together united in silent worship before our God….amazing. Our faith unites us. Along the same vein, I LOVE that no matter where we are in the world, whether we understand the home language of the country or not, the order of the mass is always the same. Participating in mass outside of Canada is one of my favourite things because it really drives home the idea that we are all connected in this “Catholic culture” and are perhaps not as different as we may have thought otherwise.

  6. I am currently living in Australia and have had the opportunity of becoming part of an Australian Catholic community. The great thing is that the community here is very similar to a Canadian Catholic community. For myself, Catholicism is a major part of my culture, as it defines who I am. It is reassuring to know that even though I am thousands of miles away from home, my Catholic culture does not need to change. Because of excellent friends and family I am able to maintain a strong Catholic culture regardless of where I am and share it with everyone I know.

    • I agree with Emily, it was so great to know that as much of an adjustment as it was to move into a foreign country, the mass is exactly the same! I feel that I am connecting to my friends and family when I am at mass in Australia knowing that they are celebrating the same mass in Canada or where ever they may be. Being Catholic is something that you can share with people even when there are language barriers or other differences. I define Catholic culture to be a person’s beliefs and way of life where I believe in God and follow in his teachings!

  7. Being Catholic is definately part of my culture. Like I said in an earlier post, my culture surrounds my family. When I was growing up, we were aware we were catholic. We went to church every Sunday, we prayed at supper,etc. Once I graduated, I stopped going to church as often. Now that I have a family of my own, I realise how lucky I was to grow up in a catholic family and I look forward to installing those beliefs into my childrens lives as well.

Leave a Reply

